Brain-Based Instruction and Accountability

Using multiple intelligences is something I always try to incorporate in my lessons as a teacher. And that made me think: what about with myself? Do I use multiple intelligences to help myself learn? The conclusion I came to is that I don’t use this research-based strategy enough for myself; I often rely on written and verbal intelligences to learn. Therefore, I decided to make a visual that is in my room by my door. So far this visual has motivated me; I am starting to see the progress that I have made and value my learning (this was a problem I was having at the start). Using visuals also has held me accountable – I can’t ignore my learning project because I walk by it multiple times a day. I now make myself sign a couple words on my way out of the door. It also acts as a visual reminder to take my daily fingerspelling quiz at ASL University Fingerspelling Quizzes. Moral of the story: the strategies we use with our students are strategies we can and should use for ourselves as lifelong learners!

20150223_221124

Leave a Reply

