ASL Places

My first take at ASL places signs:

My resources:

Bill Vicars “100 Basic Signs” (see: 2:17 to 4:11)

Paul Fugate‘s “Places in American Sign Language (ASL)”

ASL University – I have been using the quizzes to test myself. For instance, on February 20th I got 70% on fingerspelling test one and today (February 23rd) I got 100%. It is starting to feel good to see this success and I can feel it getting easier. It also allows me to practice interpreting (listening with my eyes) instead of just speaking with my hands, as true communication requires both parts. I try to complete one of these quizzes a day, as it is helping my retain what I have already learned and is allowing me to accurately self-assess if I am on the right track. For instance, I noticed that I need to spread my fingers more for “f” and that letters “e,” “a,” and “t” trick me sometimes when listening. I am so used to getting feedback and not having to self-assess/self-correct so I am thankful for this resource.

I am currently practicing time signs so stay tuned and feel free to leave some feedback in the comment sections!

Leave a Reply

