Learning American Sign Language Online Resources

For my major project in ECMP 355 I am going to attempt to cross something off of my bucket list: learning American Sign Language! As a future inclusive educator, a tutor for those with varying abilities, and an employee at Camp Easter Seal in the summers, I feel that sign language is a skill I need to truly include all of my learners. I know that in 50 hours I will not be fluently signing even though I have used the basics at work and have a strong grasp of the English language. There is a common misconception that ASL is simply signing English words and phrases when in fact, an entire new set of grammatical rules governs the language. It takes just as long to master sign language as it does to learn a new language. BUT I am up for the challenge and so far these are the resources that I have found that will assist me on my learning journey:

Start ASL free online classes, resources, dictionary, product reviews, deaf culture information, course search, and workbook.

ASL University videos.

YouTube videos for practice.

Bill Vicars on YouTube

Expertvillage videos on YouTube.

My Smart Hands on YouTube for kids learning ASL.

Deaf Linx

ASL Training Programs

ASL Pro

I am also purchasing this book: Talking with Your Hands, Listening with Your Eyes: A Complete Photographic Guide to American Sign Language by Gabriel Grayson and I have the ASL and LearningSignLanguage applications.

I think I am all set for resources. The biggest challenge will be focusing, directing my own learning, and selecting the right resources. Wish me luck!

8 thoughts on “Learning American Sign Language Online Resources

  1. I just started ASL myself, and appreciate the resources you’ve listed here, thank you so much! I found you on WordPress Reader, will look for all your posts on ASL, and look forward to reading and seeing your progress.

  2. Ach, these are fantastic, thank you! I will definitely check them out. I didn’t realize there was such a richness in resources when I started learning ASL. Also, thank you for turning me on to Bill Vicars. I use the fingerspelling practice tool almost every day, to drill my reading skills, and it has helped SO MUCH.

    • I am so glad that you could find these resources and would agree that there are plenty! Bill Vicars is basically the best and same with ASL University! I wish you the best of luck on your learning journey!!

Leave a Reply

