Teaching Environment

This Monday I had the privilege of watching David Suzuki and friends share their insights about the environment and about our right to have environmental security and stability in our Canadian Constitution. As Dr. David Suzuki noted, “what’s more important than the right to breathe fresh air, drink clean water and eat healthy food?” What amazed me most about the Blue Dot Tour is how everything is interconnected. David Suzuki’s overview did not just include environmental history – Medicare by Tommy Douglas, heterosexism/racism/sexism, voting rights, equality for all, democracy, sustainable economics, social action, taking care of the weakest, planning for the future, First Nations rights, etc. were all discussed. All the things I am really passionate about are interconnected and this was a liberating realization. (Now if I could only get my hands on that speech)!

David Suzuki’s point that resonated most with me was that there is no environment. “WHAAAAT?” I thought, “that doesn’t make sense coming from an environmentalist?” But it is true! There is no separate entity that is environment and a separate entity that is humanity We are the air. We are the water. There is one blue dot and everything in it is connected. What we put into the world, we put into ourselves. What we do to those less fortunate or animals or Mother Nature, we do to ourselves (in the long run, at the very least).

I left feeling inspired, yet so small. It is a daunting task to change the worldview of many and to put eco back into economics. How do we change our habits? How do we reverse the damage we have caused? I know I cannot begin to solve all of these issues but I can contribute to the solution by TELLING politicians what I want and what they can do for me instead of letting them pull the strings. I can recycle. I can walk. I can take the bus. I can research and try to only purchase organic foods and fair trade products (to the best of my ability). I can avoid using chemicals. I can sign petitions to save the bees. I can encourage my municipality to embrace eco-friendly choices. I am NOT POWERLESS. I will be a positive drop of water in the bucket… and maybe I am just one drop, but if everyone is a positive drop in the bucket Dr. Suzuki reminded us that “we can fill any bucket.” So far over 55,000 Canadians have signed the petition to have environmental rights be recognized in our Constitution and I have faith that there will be many more “drops” to come. POSITIVE CHANGE IS WANTED. POSITIVE CHANGE IS NEEDED. AND POSITIVE CHANGE WILL HAPPEN!

For more information visit:

Blue Dot

‘Shoulders’ by Shane Koyczan and The Short Story Long

Today is the day we Decide

Leave a Reply

