Chapter 2 Response

Chapter 2 discussed how to get students involved in the learning process and assessment process. Students need to know that mistakes happen, practice and feedback are needed and success takes on all shapes and sizes. Once again, it is suggested to “reduce the amount of evaluative feedback and increase the amount of descriptive feedback” throughout all stages of the learning (Davies, 2011, p. 18). To succeed, student need to be shown samples and not just receive oral directions.

Guiding Our Own Learning

I have always enjoyed when teachers model in front of the board. For instance, in an English class instead of saying, “do a compare/contrast essay” I like when they actually model it for the class. The class all takes part and ideas expand. I like conversational or written feedback and I like when it is honest but not attacking my work. If someone tells me what I did great and what I need to work on, that is a lot more beneficial than saying that it was all terrible or throwing a 60% on the bottom. When evaluative feedback is given, I still rely on verbal or written feedback (descriptive).

I could see this come to life in my classroom by giving lots of practice time. I hope to do station teaching where things can be modeled. I also hope to spend time expanding assignments rather than moving quickly from thing to thing. I think doing group work or jigsaws or literature circles would be a great way to allow students  time to master a task before doing it on their own. I think self-assessment can be a focus in my classroom as long as the teacher is still giving ample feedback and doing check-ins. Students cannot figure it all out on their own and would need structure. They may be given questions or a checklist. At the end of the day, it all comes down to explicit instruction.

Leave a Reply

