Three Teacher Images

I think the University of Regina teaching program best resembles the “Learned Practitioner” image:

  1. We specialize in subjects (although it is impossible to know everything).
  2. We focus on learning theory.
  3. I am an Educational Psychology minor, which relates to this image.
  4. We focus on PDP’s, lesson plans, classroom management, teaching strategies, etc. through trial and error.
  5. We are made to be part of the system.

At the same time, many of my classes produce the teacher “as researcher” image through self-reflections, social media connections and research papers.  Furthermore, there is a large emphasis on lifelong learning (although many teachers do not do anymore formal education and often educational resources/journals are not available at schools).  We are told what not to do and sometimes are shown how not to do these things, for instance, how not to be exclusive.

Of course, our education touches on the “professional” image through certification, following the code of ethics/STF, talking about professionalism and mandating required courses.  I would say that our university education focuses the least on this area but we are warned to act appropriately etc.  This area can be very restrictive and also society does not always see us as the professionals our program tries to make us become.

All three of these images that Kumashiro describes are part of our education and teaching journey.  They have negative aspects but they help create well-rounded educators.

2 thoughts on “Three Teacher Images

  1. I definitely agree that our program exhibits a piece of each of Kumashiro’s images. I found it interesting that you think of how we act as teachers as being restrictive. How do you mean?

    • We are supposed to act professional inside and outside of school (I agree with this). But I think this is hard because of technology. Where are our private lives? Do we get to have them?

      In the news we see stories about teachers who are getting fired when their private lives cross their school/professional lives. While I agree with many of these cases, I think in some cases other professionals would never get fired for such minor reasons.

      It’s restrictive to not know where the line is. I feel like I need to be perfect at all times and that is not realistic. I shouldn’t be allowed to do illegal activities because I’m a person in our society, not because of my profession. And I should be able to do legal activities without being judged.

Leave a Reply

